Best and Worst Articles of the Year – Grass Pants 2012 Retrospective Day Two

2012 has been one of the weirdest years for Grass Pants. … Despite the fact that we’ve only had one other year, but let’s ignore that fact for the moment. Anyway, I’ve done some of – what I consider, at least – to be my best work and my worst work during this year, so let’s check out which article I’m more than willing to show off and which one I hope nobody ever stumbles upon.

I honestly can’t nail this down to just one article. As far as I’m concerned, nothing has had quite as much time, care, and research put into it like my Looking Back series on the Kirby games. If I honestly had to choose just one, though, I’d be willing to say Kirby Super Star, just because of how many memories I have of it and how those memories came flooding back when I sat down to write it. Me and my best friend have played the game so much that the save battery started to die. I can’t think of a game that I’ve put more hours into or an article that brought back more good memories (maybe aside from the Nintendo Power retrospective). So, because of that, my Best Article of 2012 is Looking Back – Kirby Super Star.

But, like I said in yesterday’s post, with every good thing comes a ton of bad. I know that I try to keep straight-up bitching off of my site because, hell, nobody wants to read that and because I like to try and see the good in everything, no matter how bad it is. Because of that right there, my Worst Article award has to go to the first impressions of Black Rock Shooter. I was so ashamed of the stupid, unverified bullshit I said in it that I actually went back and edited it to apologize after a commenter brought it up. Keep in mind that I’d never been so disgusted with myself as to do that. Also, I’ll be totally honest that I did give the show a lot of shit because of, like he said, being too stuck on the Miku-ness of it all. It’s no secret that I hate Miku, but I really shouldn’t have let that slip into the article. So, good on you for bringing it up and making me see my mistakes, because even those this is the Worst Post of 2012, I’ve hopefully learned to sort out my biases.

Anyway, I know that this year has been weird, what with tornadoes, power outages, and just me dropping off the face of the earth, but I really hope 2013 can be better. Again, no promises are being made, but I’ll try to get out something every week, if not more often. Anyway, check back in tomorrow for Day Three of Grass Pants’ 2012 retrospective where you fine folks will get a look at some of the posts that didn’t quite make it out the door. As always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment