First Impressions – WataMote

The Summer 2013 anime season has started and a new season means new shows. I’ve been following the manga of WataMote for some time and was all kinds of psyched about it getting a series, although I’ll admit to some worry about how well they’d handle the adaptation. So let’s talk about that, yeah?

Let’s talk presentation, because nobody wants to watch a show with choppy animation or off-model characters. Now I’ll admit that I don’t have the best eye for quality, but I couldn’t see anything wrong with the quality. There may have been some subtle things that folks might find in a more in-depth viewing, but I’ve got nothin’ bad to say about that.

The art’s good stuff, but I can’t say the thing for the music and sound. Aside from the totally unexpected and awesome OP, nothin’ really stood out. I’d mark the ending theme down against WataMote, but it just wasn’t my style of music. It’s very… awkwardly ‘cute,’ is a nice way to put it, almost like it’s parodying the overly-happy anime openings and endings (OreImo’s first season comes to mind).

Finally, the voice acting is spot-on. Tomoko’s voice actress, Izumi Kitta, does an excellent job at sounding believably nervous and awkward. Yuuichi Nakamura’s portrayal as Tomoki, Tomoko’s often-annoyed younger brother, is also pretty good and actually rather similar to his role as Kyousuke from OreImo. While we’re on the subject about voice actors, the dialogue’s actually fairly clever and contains a ton of references to other shows and games.
All in all, if you liked the manga of WataMote, you’ll probably like the anime. I’d go on about how it handles itself as an adaptation, but upon further research (checking out the manga again), it doesn’t seem all that different, so we’re not in for a Hellsing/Fullmetal Alchemist scenario here. Anyway, I recommend giving it a shot. It’s a delightfully awkward and silly little series that I can relate to entirely too well and Crunchyroll’s streaming it, so it’s not difficult to track down. Anyway, if you’ll excuse me I’m going to go be sad about the lack of an Attack on Titan episode last Saturday and eagerly await its return. As always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, First Impressions, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

