No more guilt! – Grass Pants Muses on subscription-based games

My first MMO was Ultima Online. I enjoyed it, because it was legitimately fun and I had no concept of cost. Then I moved over to World of Warcraft for about three and a half years. After all that time, I began to realize something: Sweet flaming Zeus this is expensive.

I cancelled my subscription that day.

Don’t get me wrong, I know gaming’s an expensive hobby. I mean, I’m writing this on a computer that I spent entirely too much for parts on. Right next to me is a 3DS (200 USD, if I’m not mistaken). On the other side of the room are my consoles (I’m guessing over two grand when we take into account the games and whatnot). So, yeah, a lot of money has gone to gaming in this place. But I don’t think I’ve ever regretted buying a game… Until realizing I had pissed away three years (fifteen dollars a month) on World of Warcraft.

To be perfectly honest, I don’t regret all of it. The first year or two was genuinely fun and I met some great people that I’m still good friends with today, but after a while it felt like I was playing because I had to. Because Ineeded to justify my subscription.

That’s why, despite the fact that I haven’t touched Skyrim in months, I don’t regret it. I put a flat sixty dollars down on it and played it for about 200 hours, if Steam’s not lying to me. That’s why I’m okay with buying stuff like the Humble Bundle (that, and charity) and never playing some of the games until months later. That’s why I’m willing to spend 10, 20 dollars a month on Riot Points.

So, yeah. My argument against this sort of thing boils down to “I don’t want to feel guilty if I don’t play or use the service or whatever.” And I know you shouldn’t have to justify the ‘value’ of something by cost divided by hours. Hell, you shouldn’t have to justify anything if it’s your money. Just, y’know, don’t expect to see any subscription-game content from me unless it’s a beta or something. Anyhoo, thanks for reading and have a good’un. Peace.

This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No more guilt! – Grass Pants Muses on subscription-based games

  1. John Sato says:

    Hear hear. I’m totally with you on this.

    And yeah, that whole gaming thing being expensive thing? There’s a reason I use GOG. I have a Gameboy SP, a DS (not 3DS), and a computer, and it’s all I can do to find money to buy new stuff. So basically, what I’m saying is I’m jealous of your 3DS-owning and your multiple consoles. :P I’ll just have live vicariously through your blogging about them (when you do).

    • I love GoG so much, especially because Planescape: Torment is on there if I’m not mistaken. Best D&D-styled RPG I’ve ever played.

      • John Sato says:

        You know, I actually bought that game off there! I got pretty darn far in it, but then I switched computers, and now I need to restart it. Its one of my plans for the summer…thanks for reminding me about it.

Leave a Reply

