First Impressions – Hecarim, the Shadow of War

Let me go ahead and apologize for not posting this yesterday. Some weird seasonal sickness is kicking me in the throat, so posts may come slower than I’d like. Anyhoo, on with the impressions.

As far as his style goes, Hecarim looks and sounds great. His movements are nice and fluid, his voice fits, all that good stuff. My only problem with how he looks is the face. I’m not sure why, but it looks more like something you’d find on a Halloween skin than something that should be there. It feels like he should have a skull-shaped helmet/head or something, but China wouldn’t be cool with that, so hey. As far as his skins go… it’s pretty all around meh. Blood Knight is cool in theory, but the helmet completely ruins it for me. Reaper is really nice, but it honestly shouldn’t be a 975 skin.

How does he play, though? I’ll be honest, he’s kind of weird. I’ve played him in a few games in both the jungle and in lane and I have to say that he works much better in the jungle. I’m saying this mostly because he has pretty decent AoE damage and built-in healing (although I’ve never noticed it, personality). It doesn’t help that his auto-attack animation is incredibly drawn-out, which makes it a pain in the ass to try and farm in lane. In terms of ganking, he’s okay. He’s not great, he’s not awful, but you really need to either wait until level six or hope your laner brought along some reliable crowd control. I could be wrong and this could be from only having played him in a handful of games, but it seems like his ganking potential goes way up with Onslaught of Shadows.

As far as skill order and itemization goes, I’ve been following the recommendations from the champion spotlight. I could see throwing in some more tankiness, though. He can’t really take a hit as well as I expected. Also, as an aside, I feel like Shurelya’s Reverie could be pretty good on him, what with the gold per five item and movement speed active. Anyway, that’s me done for the day. Thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in First Impressions, League of Legends, Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

