First Impressions – Accel World

What’s with these past few shows not having openings? At least Accel World isn’t going through any kind of identity crisis, like Tasogare. No, you fine folks, Accel World knows what it is and wants to do, and it does it well.

I always enjoyed the .hack series for giving us a cool otherworldly game world to offset the relative real feeling of, well, reality. But it never had a good ‘divide’ from what little I’ve seen and played of the franchise. And .hack/sign was just kind of boring, but hey.

So, yeah. Accel World. Where do I start? Well, for starters the character designs and overall art and animation quality is excellent. Everything is bright (until the end) and eye-catching and just enjoyable to look at. It’s not pretty or beautiful, but it’s nice. I honestly didn’t notice any flaws and I’m a nitpicky kind of guy, so I double-checked a few scenes. Hell, even the CG looks good and fits. It helps that the CG (aside from those damned magic 3D cars) is confined to the game-like Accelerated World.

What little I’ve heard of the music is pleasant, too. There’s one track in particular that plays twice in episode one; it has a nice, western twinge to it and reminds me of an instrumentally lighter Bastion song. I’d explain it better, but it doesn’t seem to be the theme of anyone or anything. It’s just kind of there, but if anyone can get me the name of it, I will be in your debt. There’s also some other stuff, like some sort of… soft, fluffy techno? It’s really hard to place, but it’s pretty decent. Ending (or opening or whatever it is) quality is good, too. Really fitting for a show like this.

I have to say, as far as characters go, that Haruyuki may be my favorite protagonist of the season. It really depends on if Female!Nobunaga counts as Sengoku Collection’s main character or not. Anyway, Haru is what Simon likely was before Kamina. He’s timid, he’s cowardly, he’s submissive. Despite him being a complete wimp, he’s endearing and pitiable. He’s given up on reality for the most part and it hurts to see him like that. Also, Araya is totally going to come back in a future episode to ‘join the good guys.’ Just sayin’.

So, yeah. Definitely excited for more Accel World in the coming weeks. Can’t really say too much else about it, but go give it a shot over at Hulu. More impressions coming as I slowly chip away at this backlog. As always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, First Impressions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First Impressions – Accel World

  1. GoodbyeNavi says:

    You know I can do without a lot of music in my shows. Accel World is the one show I still haven’t gotten around to watching from this season that I want to watch. But I have heard good things about it which makes me happy.

  2. theskitless says:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/proxterminater look on his channel he got the ost from accel world
    “onoken” is the group that make those song i geus

Leave a Reply

