First Impressions – Folktales from Japan

Right, so since I’m drowning in a sea of new stuff to watch, almost everything else is being put on hold until I get these out of the way. Unfortunately that means no Brave 10 or Symphogear final impressions until stuff dies down. Although, for my fellow Summoners out there, I will be putting out my thoughts on Hecarim the day he comes out even if it kills me. Right, then, let’s get going.

I’ve always been a big fan of folklore, so this came as a nice surprise when I was checking out what was headed our way this spring. I wasn’t sure how it was going to be, but I was looking forward to it. I have to say, I’m incredibly satisfied with Folktales from Japan.

The entire presentation strikes me as very storybook-like. The bright and childlike art and voice acting really drive the point home. It’s definitely a show for young kids, but there are certain bits that (in my opinion, anyway) only an adult will really get. Take the Shiro story, the first one in this episode. When the old man’s neighbor screwed up with the ash and blinded the samurai, it showed him tied up and cowering while the narration stated that he was ‘punished harshly.’ It’s obvious to an adult that the guy was killed, but a kid probably wouldn’t pick that up. It’s a nice touch.

I can’t say much else about it because I don’t want to ruin it for you fine folks. All I can say is that Folktales from Japan just works. Everything about it joins together nicely to give us this great, light-hearted storybook feel. I definitely recommend this, especially if you’re looking for a series for children or just like folklore. Anyway, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, First Impressions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

