Grass Pants Reviews The Sparrow’s Midnight Dining EX

So I’ve been getting back into Touhou doujinshi recently and I’ve been meaning to review this for a while anyway, so hey. Anyhoo,  let’s get this review going because I can’t think of any clever stuff.

I’ve always been of the opinion that Touhou is at its best when it’s charming. Sure, the occasional grimdark or more serious work is good, but… It always ends up seeming forced. Happy, charming little stories seem more natural. That’s one of the big reasons I enjoy this doujin so much.

Brought to us by GRINP, The Sparrow’s Midnight Dining EX is a cute little slice of life of everyone’s favorite grill mistress. It’s incredibly short, which makes it  a quick read, but it also means I can’t say too much about it without just transcribing the damn thing.

The art is particularly nice, though. It uses a not-quite-chibi style which works nicely for the cheerful feel of the story. I’m particularly fond of GRINP’s more ‘extreme’ expressions, such as Mystia having a bit of a freak out or drunk grill patrons at the end of the doujin.

All in all, this is a cute little story that never really gets old. Feeling down or ill (the latter actually, it’s reason I chose this)? Go read The Sparrow’s Midnight Dining EX. Need to chuckle? Go read it. Just enjoy Okamisty stuff? Go read it. So, yeah, I’d have to recommend this to anyone who is into Touhou doujinshi or people who just want to see our under-appreciated birdie get a bit more love. Anyway, that’s me done for now. I’ll be back with the weekly recap tomorrow, then I’m dead until Monday. As always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, Review, Touhou and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

