Music of the Wednesday – The Mulgore Plains

Despite not being too pleased with what Blizzard’s been doing as of late, I’ll always love them. Starcraft was my first PC game over ten years ago. Warcraft 3 took hundreds of hours from me. World of Warcraft was something I played regularly for a good three years. So, while my stance on the company has shifted, my love for their games – and especially their music – has not.

If you know nothing about Warcraft and the universe it’s set in, give me a moment to explain. I recommend putting the music on repeat throughout this post, by the way! Anyway, Mulgore is home to the Native American-inspired Tauren. A race of proud, honorable once-nomads, the Tauren were the closest things the Warcraft universe, full of grey morality, had to real heroes and saints. Until the Draenei came along in the first expansion, the Tauren were probably the most righteous group in the game.

Then the events leading up to World of Warcraft: Cataclysm happened. Their leader, the grandfatherly Cairne Bloodhoof, was murdered. Their allies in the Horde grew dark and cruel, adopting a new factional leader and outright declaring war against the Alliance. One of their largest tribes, the Grimtotem, rebelled and attempted to take the Tauren capital of Thunder Bluff. Everything was broken and had changed. Everything except for their spirit. Despite all of this suffering and death, the Tauren remained the beacon of light in the Horde.

To me, this music invokes their hardship. It’s a struggling piece; the drums are still beating, but they’re doing so softly. The Tauren spirit is beaten and worn. They’re growing weary, trying to do as the late Cairne would. The Mulgore Plains represents everything that these people have went through. If you would like better, more well thought-out explanation of this, I highly encourage you to watch Jesse Cox’s video about Mulgore in Cataclysm.

Anyway, that’s me done for the day. I hope a few of you get what I’m talking about here. And if you don’t, just enjoy the music. Anyhoo, as always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Music, Video Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music of the Wednesday – The Mulgore Plains

  1. Robert Tene says:

    In WOW I was playing as a Tauren. This music makes me feel nostalgic, it reminds me of when I used to play WOW.

Leave a Reply

