Music of the Wednesday – Staff Role (Kirby’s Return to Dreamland)

I recently picked up Kirby’s Return to Dreamland, which has occupied the majority of my time this past week or so. The game is the most wonderful throwback to everything that makes the series great, but my undying praise for it can be thrown into another post. Right now, I want to focus on this absolutely beautiful piece of music. I spent about five hours deciding which song to write about, by the way. It’s got a hell of a soundtrack.

This song represents everything that I love about the Kirby series. When I listen to this masterpiece, a huge wave of nostalgia hits me. I’m brought back to a simpler time, when it was okay (if not expected) for a videogame to just be fun. No huge competition, no raging, just fun and that ever-vague sense of wonder. This song represents everything that Kirby is about. It’s light-hearted, it’s upbeat, it’s happy. It’s a lot like last week’s MotW in the sense that it’s very much a feel-good song. But it still manages to be epic and powerful with the brass instruments toward the end.

It reminds me so much of Kirby Super Star, especially Milky Way Wishes. Even the credits themselves, the names of people I’ll forever admire scrolling across the galaxy, is a nod to Milky Way Wishes. I guess, if I had to give a tl;dr version of all this rambling, this song just simply reminds me of why I love Kirby in the first place, why I’m still playing games twenty years after I started, and why I put Nintendo on such a high pedestal. Anyway, that’s me for now. Definitely check out this game sometime, especially if you love the golden age of Kirby games. As always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Music, Video Games and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

