First Impressions – Nautilus, the Titan of the Depths

Let me start off by apologizing for the lack of posts since… well… nearly a week ago. Life’s being going all kinds of crazy. So hey! New champion, new first impressions, new posting material. Let’s skip the intro fluff this time; you fine folks have waited long enough.

Nautilus looks, sounds, and feels absolutely amazing. His animations feel big and kind of sluggish, with real weight to them. The fact that his passive-triggering auto-attack is complete with a powerful, forceful ground-shattering slam makes him incredibly satisfying.

His voice, too, is completely great. It honestly sounds like he’s not physically ‘in’ the suit, but speaking from somewhere much, much deeper. The particle effects look pretty nice, too; I can’t get enough of the creepy red glow when his shield is up. Speaking of his shield, I love how it alters his auto-attack animation to something more vicious. You can tell he’s all kinds of pissed off.

I can’t really recommend his skins, though. They look cool and all, but… not enough is different. It’s a variation on ‘guy in suit, plus anchor.’ One’s more ancient, one’s more futuristic. Save your RP until they’re on sale or something. Yes, I know his Subterranean skin is a mining suit and pickaxe and I’ll admit it looks pretty cool, but… Not too terribly worth the 975 RP in my opinion.

What about how he plays, though? I’ve tried him in a number of roles and found that jungling seems really awkward for him. It may just be me or my build or something, but it always feels like he’s too slow to get anywhere in time to do anything. He’s fun to use and is pretty good at jungling, but his early game in the jungle is kind of a pain (assuming your ganks don’t go well). Come late game, though, he’s an absolute beast.

I’ve also tried him solo top and in a kill lane down bottom. He’s pretty okay in those, nothing too special. I could see him being a nice solo top champion in the right hands, though. I’m also curious to see how well going straight AP would work.

All in all, Nautilus is a lot of fun if you like sticking to enemies and being pretty tanky. His combos make for some great ganks, but his early jungling takes a bit of getting used to. If you were hoping for a bit more ‘cool factor’ with Sejuani and want a tank with some fun mechanics and a great theme, definitely check him out. Otherwise, may want to wait until free week for him. Anyhoo, that’s me done for today. If you fine folks like what you see here, please feel free to spread the word or subscribe as every bit of publicity helps us out immensely. As always, thanks for the support and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in First Impressions, League of Legends, Video Games and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Impressions – Nautilus, the Titan of the Depths

  1. Robert Tene says:

    I really want to try him out but I need to wait until he’s going to be free. :(

  2. Robert Tene says:

    He’s actually quite cheap. But I need to save some IP for Ahri so I won’t buy him anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

