Champion Impressions – Malphite, the Shard of the Monolith

So, I’ve been playing an abnormally huge amount of Malphite lately and it’s been a while since I’ve done one of these. I think I’m going to start doing these more regularly and – since a lot of the models and art is the old stuff – I’m going to skip the aesthetics bit (until new models/art come out, but that’ll get its own post). Besides, you people don’t want me to ramble on about how an old champion looks or sounds anyway. In this post I’ll be mostly covering Malphite in lane, considering I haven’t played Jungle Malphite yet. Although I will say that he looks absolutely amazing for quick and easy clears.

Malphite’s abilities are pretty easy to use, with a slightly higher curve on his ultimate. His ultimate can go through walls, so it makes for a nice escape tool as well as an excellent initiation. In terms of skilling order, I’m a fan of being super aggressive (when I can), so I tend to level up Ground Slam, followed by Brutal Strikes. I only get one point in Seismic Shard to scare off my laning opponent and – if possible – help secure ganks.

His passive is huge at early levels to help prevent poke. You can usually start with a regrowth pendant and health potion and be pretty alright until you need to go back for boots and philosopher’s stone. That’s my preferred start, anyway.

I’ve played him a few different ways, and they’ve all worked out nicely. I’ve tried Malphite as a support (which basically amounted to standing around, looking threatening, and throwing out a Q when they got too close) with another melee champion. Not the meta way to do it, but hey, it works. Malphite ults, then slows them with Q and Yi (or Nocturne or whoever) tears them apart.

I’ve also tried solo top and solo mid Malphite, both playing as more of a tank role. He’s surprisingly good against casters (or maybe the constant shield and super aggression was scaring them away) and completely shuts down Gangplank, provided that you don’t eat too many unnecessary hits or die to ganks. Last game I played against a Gangplank, the dude was absolutely terrified. The fact that his jungler had to pretty well babysit top lane meant bottom and mid could farm without fear.

In terms of comparing him to other champions, I’d have to say that Alistar is a really good match. Aside from Alistar’s more support-y role, both are incredibly durable tanky characters who can easily disrupt or initiate. I could also kind of see Sejuani, because Malphite’s pretty mobile once his Q is leveled up. They also share the same tankiness (although Sejuani has an absurd amount of health as opposed to Malphite’s built in damage shield), and could kindasorta work as a support in an odd lane. Also, Sejuani can start fights or secure ganks with the best of them.

Anyhoo, that’s it for me for now. I’m thinking of making this a more regular feature (if only to help clear out my backlog of champions), so let me know what you fine folks think in the comments. As always, thanks for the support and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in League of Legends, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

