Music of the Wednesday – LAST EMOTION

Why Wednesday? Because I like the acronym MotW and Music of the Week is too expected and too normal.  So hey, it’s been a while since we’ve seen any real music-talk here, huh? I’ve decided to bring back Music of the Whenever as Music of the Wednesday, finally making it a dependably-posted feature. As usual, hit the jump for the discussion and analysis.

I’ve always wondered why there aren’t more stage theme remixes from Touhou circles. Aside from Rin’s stage in Subterranean Animism, nothing else really gets a chance to shine. And that’s a shame! I mean, listen to what A-One could do with Last Remote. That’s an absolutely amazing remix. It helps that the source is good, but if you’re dealing with Touhou music, then it’s all of a pretty high quality so there’s no damned reason why we shouldn’t get more of this kind of thing.

And that is my rant.

Anyway, aside from all the praise I could heap on this (which would be boring), I have a few niggling little details about this song that bother me. Check out the volume. I have no idea why it’s this low. It’s the only track on the CD (Polygon Rain, if you’re curious) this low. If I didn’t have to look through my entire A-One collection, I’d say it’s the only one in their entire career that has such a bizarrely low volume.

My guess would be either the fact that it’s Koishi’s stage theme, and Koishi deals with the subconscious… Thus the low volume being sort of ‘symbolic’ for lack of a better term in the sense that, while listening at a normal volume, the song is merely an afterthought that you don’t really notice in a conscious fashion. My second guess is that the lyrics (which I do not have handy outside of romanized Japanese) are a part of it. Either way, props to AXL – or whoever made that choice – to give us this sort of not-quite-there feeling with this song. I hope that makes sense.

One final thing I’d like to touch on is how it’s an incredibly fast song, yet the lyrics (for the most part) seem fairly calm and even slow in some places when compared to the music. Again, I can guess why they chose to do it like this, but I’d probably be wrong. Either way, it’s an interesting and nice touch. As a small aside, does anyone notice the song sort of ‘building up’ as it progresses? It seems like the volume gets louder and the lyrics lose that calm, soft quality they once had, finally catching up with the frantic pace of the music.

Anyhoo, that’s all I’ve got. If you’d like to let me know something I’ve missed, throw out your own thoughts on this, or even suggest music for a future Music of the Wednesday, feel free to drop a comment. Also, if you like what you read here at the Grass Feels Like Pants, you can hit the subscribe button up on the side there to get an email with every post. As always, thanks for your support and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Music of the Wednesday – LAST EMOTION

  1. Robert Tene says:

    Well to be honest I don’t really listen to this type of music. But its not bad.

Leave a Reply

