Grass Pants takes a look at the Spring 2012 Anime Season

Considering it’s been a while since I’ve done one of these kinds of posts (and I have some new readers), I’m gonna explain how my looking at a new season works. If you already know the drill, just hit the jump for my comments.

I only comment on what seems genuinely interesting to me. If I see something like, say, Highschool DxD and comment on it, the comments would be ‘oh hey look, it’s another harem series, moving on’. And that makes for boring reading.

I don’t comment on second seasons (usually). This is because a lot of second/third/fourth seasons tend to be more of the same. Maybe higher production values or something. Another reason is because I probably haven’t seen the first season, because I am a horrible person when it comes to getting things done. No comments on movies and whatnot either, unless something stands out. Anyhoo, that’s my spiel. As usual, the image is at the bottom of the post, so feel free to check that out. Also, many thanks to those who compiled this information. On with the comments!

Ozuma – The idea of seeing an ‘unreleased scenario’ from the man behind Space Battleship Yamato and Harlock intrigues me. It’s apparently going to be a six-episode series, so it should be a pretty easy watch. Also helps that I’m currently on a sci-fi kick. The setting seems pretty interesting, too. Reminds me quite a bit of Trigun from what little we know of it.

Acchi Kocchi – Slice of life with tsundere. Art style looks cute enough. I’ll give it a first impressions post, if nothing else. I could see it being a few-minute-per-episode thing, kind of like Recorder and Randsell.

Zetman –  This looks all sorts of badass just from the one screenshot I have handy. It’s giving me a very retro vibe, too. Can’t really comment too much due to lack of information at hand, but it’s got me excited.

Hyou-Ka – Anyone else reminded of Another/Higurashi without all the horrible murders and umbrellas? Because I am. I love a good mystery, so I hope this pulls through. Can’t see it being as dark as the other two, though…

Sankarea – A lot of weird slice-of-life and highschool stuff this time around. Not complaining. Interesting to see how deep it’ll go into the girl’s reasoning behind wanting to become a zombie, too.

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia – Speaking of weird slice of life stuff. Definitely reminded of Another, except the ghost (Yes, I’m still calling Misaki being a spirit of some sort) isn’t inherently terrifying and prone to killing people around her (still calling that theory, too).

Uchuu Kyoudai – Well this is a surprise. It’s… normal. It’s just two brothers, seemingly middle-aged, who made a vow. A big surprise given the rest of the season’s offerings. I have high hopes for it, but don’t know if I’ll be able to watch the whole thing.

AKB0048 – Guerilla. Idols. Guerilla idols. It’s like someone said that Symphogear couldn’t get any more balls-out insane, then Satelight folded their metaphorical arms and… Well, challenge accepted.

Sakamichi no Apollon – It’s interesting if only because of the time period it’s set in and the fact that it seems to be a completely realistic series. I… honestly don’t see myself watching more than an episode or two, but it’s good to see studios try something new.

Haiyore! Nyaruko-san – Loli Cthulhu and aliens. Have I mentioned I love how crazy Japan gets sometimes?

Anyhoo, that’s it. Lots of cool stuff coming up in the next few months, so that makes me happy. Also, there’s a lot of stuff I didn’t cover, so feel free to check out the image below. Also, if you enjoy what you see here, feel free to subscribe to get the latest updates from The Grass Feels Like Pants. As always, thanks for your support, thanks for reading, and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Grass Pants takes a look at the Spring 2012 Anime Season

  1. wooterz says:

    Damn, no Dog Days season 2 yet.

  2. Leap250 says:

    I thought for sure Sword Art Online was going to be a spring show >.<

    Haven't really finalized my Spring lineup yet, though I'll definitely watch Hyou-ka, and Tasogare Otome x Amnesia. I don't know anything about Hyou-ka, but Amnesia has a nice balance of mystery/comedy/romance to it.

    • Sword Art Online sounds familiar, but I could be thinking of Sword Girls…

      And mine’s not so much finalized as it is ‘here are my thoughts about what looks cool; if it holds up after the first episode or so, I’ll watch it until it gets stupid or finishes’.

      Also, is it me, or is there a lot of mystery/thriller stuff coming out lately? Not that I’m complaining.

      • Leap250 says:

        Sword Art is pretty hyped (I think) so I guess you might’ve heard/since it once or twice around the net.

        Definitely more mystery/thrillers this time around. Aside from the two I mentioned there’s also Sankarea, which I hear is pretty fun as well.

  3. will watch most of them. at least the first episodes.

    excited for the continuation of fate/zero
    for new anime, maybe tasogare or sankarea, another has gotten me really interested in horrors

    • For some reason, I just can’t get into Fate/Zero. I guess it’s too much talking and slow-paced episodes bogged down with politics. I mean… I don’t watch Gundam for the politics, I watch it for the giant robots beating the shit out of each other.

      Same goes for Fate.

      Also hoping that one of the mystery/thriller anime this coming season lives up to Another in terms of intrigue (and hopefully doesn’t live up to Another in terms of death scenes…).

  4. Robert Tene says:

    Im really excited now that Phi Brain gets a second season :)

Leave a Reply

