Artist Spotlight – S-Syogo

Remember how I said first impressions would pick up again today? Yeah, I should’ve screened what was left before saying that. Nothing looks too terribly interesting at the moment, unless we get a mid-season surprise. Anyway, it’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, so let’s get started. As usual, please anticipate any links in this post as being NSFW unless otherwise noted. Also, the images in the post contain links to the relevant Pixiv page. Because I’d feel like a scumbag if I used an imgur source or something.

If you remember my artist-mistakenly-known-as-Ichiju spotlight, you’ll know that I made a comment about how I have a massive thing for well-drawn eyes or a particularly nice (and unique) style. Well, much like Ogami Kazuki, S-Syogo definitely has both of those going on.

I’ve been following him pretty regularly for about a year now, so I’ve gotten used to his style and all that. It’s got a very… ‘soft’ feel to it (even though he does some more explicit stuff). There’s a sort of warm glow in the choice of colors he tends to use.

Another big reason I’m writing this right now is that I’ve been looking through some of his older stuff. And by older, I’m talking from late 2009 or early 2010. Looking back at all of that, it’s absolutely fascinating to see how he’s gone from a rough, not-too-defined or certain style to something that’s completely unique and you can pick out a mile away.

So, if you like what you see up there, definitely go check out his Pixiv and see if you can’t pick up a copy of the doujinshi he drew recently. The guy definitely deserves to be noticed more than he is. Anyhoo, as always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Touhou and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

