Oh dear god, that scene. – Grass Pants muses on Another episode 3

So I’ve decided to break up the seemingly never-ending stream of first impressions with something a bit different. I don’t normally talk about a show mid-series unless something utterly insane or terrifying or awesome happens. In this case, it’s the second one. As expected for a post like this, there will be spoilers for episode three of Another.So hey, did anyone else who watched this episode want to get some sleep afterward? Because too bad, your mind is now full of that horrific, twitchy death scene. I never really expected her to die so soon. Actually, I never expected her to die at all. If anything, the nurse (logically) would have been the first to go.

Unless Misaki doesn’t know the nurse is leaking information, because Misaki was never with the nurse. The girl (whose name escapes me) was about to let Sakakibara in on something. Something that Misaki didn’t want him to know.

This is all going on the idea that any deaths in this series are the will of Misaki (who may or may not be the same Misaki from 26 years ago). Again, this is giving me a huge Higurashi vibe. Why does Misaki (and everyone, for that matter) want to keep Sakakibara in the dark? That… is something I have no idea about.

On another note, I have a theory that a friend brought up. The girl who died at the hospital near the beginning of the series is named Misaki. However, the spirit/ghost/nonexistant Misaki was around prior to that (to the knowledge of my friend and myself). My friend suggests, and we could both be completely wrong in this, that the ghost Misaki possesses dead girls, treating them like dolls. Remember Misaki’s speech about how dolls being able to get something inside them or are looking for their other half (more on that in a moment) or something?

Misaki, in episode one, mentioned that she was delivering that doll to ‘her other half,’ which means that ghost!Misaki visited the dead girl. Did she take the place of the dead girl? We’re not entirely sure, but that would explain the title’s significance. “Another” referring to there being two different girls, somehow linked, named Misaki.

Or something. Anyhoo, that’s me (technically us, considering that about half this post came from a friend’s brainstorm) done for now. If you like what you see here, feel free to hit that subscribe button up there for all the latest Grass Pants updates. Also, if you have any bloody idea what’s going on in this show, please let us know in the comments. As always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Oh dear god, that scene. – Grass Pants muses on Another episode 3

  1. AceRailgun says:

    I hope you haven’t picked up on a red herring there because the idea of her possessing the dead girl makes perfect sense and explains why she rambled on about dolls being empty.

    If that is the case it is very possible that umbrella girl could get possessed too. That would be freaky.

    • Oh god, umbrella girl getting possessed with that puncture wound in her throat…

      And I’ll try to get some more explanation about that theory from my friend the next time we talk, I basically paraphrased what she said in my post after she left. Hopefully it wasn’t terribly confusing to anyone who read it!

      • AceRailgun says:

        It is an interesting theory. I wonder if it will still hold up a week from now. My theories all fell through with this episode but that’s okay because I have plenty of new ones.

  2. Rei says:

    Interesting episode. I still can’t get over about the umbrella scene. Looks like Mei is somehow mad to the girl because she runs away from her. I think she can somehow see her, if not, what is with the reaction? I guess some people can see her and some can’t. This will be an interesting show. With a few of the questions answered, a few others pops up, damn. We need more Another! Naw!

    • I’m gonna go ahead and admit that I couldn’t sleep the night after watching that scene.

      And I’m agreeing with the ‘umbrella girl (whose name escapes me still) saw Misaki’ theme. But something tells me that umbrella girl did something, or was going to do something, to make Misaki visible to her.

      If that makes sense.

      Also dear god, I can still see the twitching…

      • Rei says:

        Really? lol! Well for it it only happens for like half and hour or so, and later i’m back to normal. I’m sure it will be one of the most memorable scene in Another. xD

        No idea, or maybe Mei is just looking for someone to fill that empty dolls. There is so many speculations that we can’t make but well just wait for the next episode and will probably know a bit more about it.

        :P

      • >I’m sure it will be one of the most memorable scene in Another. xD
        I hope so. My sleep schedule’s screwed up enough as-is…

        >No idea, or maybe Mei is just looking for someone to fill that empty dolls.
        Oh that is an absolutely /genius/ theory. It never occurred to me that it’d be like that!

  3. Robert Tene says:

    The ending of the episode gave me chills. And also, if Misaki wouldn’t exist then why is she there? That makes no sense!

Leave a Reply

