First Impressions – Senki Zesshou Symphogear

Have you ever wished that you could somehow combine Rave Master with post-timeskip Gurren Lagann, then throw in a dash of magical girl stuff? Well if so, then you have some really specific tastes. Also, you’ve watched Rave Master, which makes me happy. Oh, right, and you’ll also enjoy Symphogear.

The storyline is an interesting mix of silly and serious. In the future, an evil, Anti-Spiral-like force known as the Noise threatens mankind. In a normal anime, you’d keep your resident horrible abominations away with mecha or magic or something. Symphogear isn’t a normal anime. And the Noise aren’t normal evil things. No normal weapon hurts them, so what do we do? We get girls to wear singing-powered armor and fight with flashy special attacks and big weapons.

Considering how big of a place music has in this anime, I’m happy to report that the soundtrack is suitably rockin’. Opening theme (or what I’m considering the opening theme)? Badass duet. Ending theme? Equally badass J-rock-sounding piece. Insert songs? A nice mix of everything. Next to UN-GO, this is probably my favorite soundtrack. And that’s not in this season or even this year. That’s out of all the anime I’ve ever watched. Quality stuff here, folks.

Also, I’m happy to report that the action scenes are absolutely amazing. Flashy, over-the-top special attacks (complete with a freeze frame naming them on-screen). Awesome looking weapons and armor. I’m serious when I throw in Gurren Lagann at the top, there. It’s that level of flashy and I’ve only watched the first episode so far.

Art isn’t too terribly much to talk about. Noise have an excellent style going on with them, looking completely out of place (again, much like Gurren’s Anti-Spiral) and almost distorted. Their glaring colors look all sorts of ‘wrong’ in the shiny clean futuristic Japan. The transformation sequences are pretty standard, except for the one at the very end of the episode. That one’s just kind of terrifying.

Anyhoo, that’s me done for now. If you like what you see and don’t want to have to stalk me on Twitter or whatnot, feel free to subscribe via the (once again working/actually there) button off to the side there. As always, thanks for reading and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, First Impressions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Impressions – Senki Zesshou Symphogear

  1. GoodbyeNavi says:

    The singing takes a nosedive in the second episode. My ears were hurting and if it continues to be this way, I won’t be able to watch the show. And I really wanted to!

    • Aw, man… Really? That makes me all kinds of sad. I REALLY hope that’s a one-episode fluke because the premise is just so bloody cool and the fights are great and all that.

      • GoodbyeNavi says:

        I’m going to watch the third episode but I can see myself fast forwarding through some of the singing parts if it keeps its musical vibe up. The first episode was definitely better than the second.

  2. tsurugiarashix says:

    It is not all that bad to me. Somewhat decent, but I do feel like it could be heading for some trouble, despite the execution trying its best to move the story forward. I have to agree though, the attacks are sort of on the grandoise side, but afterwards it does being to fit the norm along with the music. Think the music itself would be my favorite part….well certain tracks (like Tsubasa’s in Sympogear mode).

  3. Robert Tene says:

    This anime is basically copying Evangelion and Madoka Magika, and the plot is really weird. The monsters look completly weird. But I guess its decent enough.

Leave a Reply

