First Impressions – Brave 10

When I first heard about Brave 10, I was psyched. It’s an action series set in the Warring States period of Japanese history, which happens to be my favorite historical time and place. Also, its OP reminds me of Saiyuki, and that’s just great.

If you’re looking for no-nonsense action, definitely give Brave 10 a try. I don’t think I’ve seen better fight scenes (especially for the first episode) elsewhere except the final confrontation in [C]. The animation is crisp and smooth and really gives me Samurai Deeper Kyo flashbacks. I can’t really speak much about the music, because it’s pretty basic stuff for that time period. The OP’s the only thing that really stood out and that’s mostly because I’m a sucker for vocals. There is a short piece of ‘traditional’ Japanese music near the end of the episode which is done in a more techno style, so that was pretty cool.

I’m going to be completely biased about the plot and characters. I will admit that right now. I am a huge fanboy of the time period, and it hits all the right spots with me. The amazing shot of Ueda at sundown, the dimly lit room where Sanada discusses his plans. Everything is near-perfect if not one-hundred-percent golden. The more modern touches like Saizou’s outfit are nice little additions. Also, Isanami is adorable and totally the reincarnation or avatar of Izanami, calling it right now. You don’t name a character that without it being an important thing down the road.

Anyway, if you like the Warring States period and like action on par with Saiyuki and Samurai 7, then you need to check this out. Is it too early to give out my best of the season award yet?

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, First Impressions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to First Impressions – Brave 10

  1. tsurugiarashix says:

    Finally someone else besides myself and Marth taking an interest in this show. Not sure why people are not choosing to give this one a chance. Well, like yourself, I am moderate fan of series like this, so Brave10 was a gamble of watch, but glad I did check out the 1st episode. Besides, who would pass up cute Isanami :D

    • I was honestly expecting it to just be some mediocre shonen series until I actually got around to watching it.

      If you like stuff like this, I /highly/ recommend Saiyuki. Thanks for reading and commenting! :D

      • tsurugiarashix says:

        Same here. Might be to early to say, but it did get off to a great start. Looking forward to seeing the next episode today ^^

        Thanks. I will add that one to my “going to watch list”. I hesitant about it at first (well, had a bad experience stumbling upon fangirl images, lol), but will check it out when my time allows. Your welcome, I will be sure to visit you often (I’ll also add you to my blogroll if you like).

  2. >blogroll

    I always forget about that. Need to add a few more sites soon… And sure, feel free! I’ll do the same for you.

    And yeah, I tend to ignore the fangirls when it comes to Saiyuki. They’ve ruined too many things for me already ><

  3. John Sato says:

    Good to know SOMEONE else is watching this. I was all set to hound Gintokiro on his site over the course of the season, but then he had to go and announce a hiatus. :(

    All in all, I agree. Cool action, cool setting, and awesome music that sounds like it came out of Battle Toads. It’d probably be better if it became a massive serial thing with like 52 episodes, but hey, I’ll take what I can get. And I hadn’t paid too much attention to the art in this show, but now that you mention it, it’s really pretty good.

    • Interesting comparison to Battle Toads, I never thought of that before. … And now I want a new game in that series.

      Also, I’m perfectly fine with it being fairly short. If you can tell a story in 26 or so episodes without resorting to a bunch of filler nonsense, then do so. I just don’t want to have to put up with a whole lot of meaningless fluff.

Leave a Reply

