First Impressions – Viktor, the Machine Herald

Two mages in a row? Riot, you are silly. Speaking of nothing in particular, does Viktor live up to the badass mad scientist Riot’s made him out to be? Let’s find out!

I have to say, Viktor has a lot of nice little touches to his model. If you already own him, keep an eye on his staff before you upgrade Hex Core. The three colors swirl about it randomly, which is really cool. All in all, it’s a good model. Voice is pretty standard for a mad Russian-y scientist, so I can’t really comment on anything there.

Now, as you know, I do everything in my power to get out first impressions on day of release. I was trying to yesterday, but… Something happened. I had played about five games with Viktor (both Classic and Dominion) yesterday, but there was something I couldn’t put my finger on. Something felt like it needed another day of testing. I’ve finally found out what it is.

Viktor has a god awful time with laning. As long as your opponent is competent enough to get decent last-hits and harass. Caitlyn (who has been my most common opponent in mid)? Completely outranges. Cassiopeia? That poison eats through potions like nothing else. I know he’s supposed to be a mid-ranged semi-tanky mage, akin to Swain, but… It feels like you should send him to solo up top. A lot of the common mid picks absolutely destroy him. Again, all my experience; if you know how to succeed in mid as Viktor, please let me know.

Well, what about his teamfight potential, then? I’d say it’s actually really good. Again, think of how Swain does it, except with a (delayed) stun and shield, as opposed to a targeted slow and a lot of sustain. My only real problem is his ultimate, Chaos Storm. The first big burst is nice and does a decent lot of damage, but the storm moves a bit too slow even when Viktor’s right next to it. I do like how, if you make it follow a champion, it will actually follow them instead of stopping where they were.

A few other bits of niggling annoyance is how clunky (and relatively low damage) his Death Ray is. It seems like, for the complexity of the vector targeting mechanic, it could do more damage or travel faster or something.

So, in short, he’s pretty fun. I wouldn’t outright buy him just yet, though because he’s got a few issues which may or may not be taken care of in coming patches. As always, give him a try on free week; if you like him, buy him. If you like how he plays, but have problems with him, then give Swain a shot.

Anyhoo, that’s it for me. Apologies for the lack of updates, some sense of normalcy should be coming back to the blog soon. Thanks for reading and have a good’un!

This entry was posted in First Impressions, League of Legends, Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

