Circle Spotlight – A-One

It’s incredibly rare when I like a group so much that I spend hours upon hours hunting down everything they done. Well, A-One is one of the handful of groups that has enticed me that much.

I’m not saying everything they do is gold, but most of it is. It all started when my sister, who is infinitely more into checking out new music circles than I am, asked me if I liked eurobeat. Being in one of my ‘sure, why not’ moods, I said ‘sure, why not’. So she linked me a song.

Keep in mind, this was my first exposure to eurobeat. Holy sweet happiness, I absolutely fell in love with this man’s voice. It helps that it’s a Rumia remix, which is one of my favorite songs from Touhou 6. So, we linked each other a few more, and we were absolutely hooked.

So then, being mildly OCD as I am, I decided to hunt down the rest of their stuff. I’ve done a Music of the Whenever on one of their songs before, so if you’ve listened to that, then you know they’ve got a lot of… weird, silly variety. In fact, that’s one of the big things that drew me to them. It’s like every Flandre remix has to be bordering on complete chaos or every Byakuren theme is nice and soft and happy. Don’t get me wrong, I love those songs because of that exact reason, but… I also love it when someone says ‘screw that noise’ and does something different. And A-One does a lot of things different. And I like that.

I can’t really recommend all of their stuff, but most of it is pretty much gold. If you want a group that isn’t afraid to try something new (and, sometimes, something incredibly weird and mildly terrifying), then definitely check these guys out. They’ve done a great job with getting me to listen to stuff I never expected to. Also, some of their albums sound like stuff taken from Digital Devil Saga (KARMA SCREEN, for instance), and that’s just great.

As always, thanks for reading and have a good’un! Oh, and if you like what you see here, check out the Spotlights page link at the top of the screen.

Oh and if anyone knows what the hell is going on in that above link, please let me know.

This entry was posted in Music, Spotlight, Touhou and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

