Grass Pants takes a look at the Winter 2011 Anime Schedule

I honestly can’t believe we have another season chart out already. I mean, this one’s barely half over, isn’t it? Anyhoo, just like last time I’ll be only mentioning shows that hit my interest or that I have something funny or interesting to say about. When you’re done reading, hit up the very bottom of this post for the chart. On with the comments!

Kyousogiga – I don’t quite know why, but this gives me a pretty big MegaTen vibe. Probably all that stuff about the three different groups vying for power (such as law, neutrality, and chaos do in MegaTen). It seems kind of surreal and creepy from the description, so let’s hope it doesn’t end up as some wonky shonen series.

Recorder to Randoseru – This looks… unique. Part of me expects it to be a slice-of-life and part of me worries it’s going to be slice-of-life. It’s got some promise, but I don’t know if I’ll stick with it.

Mouretsu Pirates – I love pirates. I love space. I love cute girls. This combines those loves. Not sure if I’ll stay with it, but I’ll definitely check it out. Hoping for some badass space fighting, honestly.

BRAVE 10 – Hell yes! The Sengoku period is easily my favorite historical era, and I am a friggin’ fanboy of Sanada. I want this to be as badass as possible and hopefully this takes place in a time before Nobunaga died because I friggin’ love that man.

Another – This looks like a good mystery/horror thing. I’m getting kind of a Higurashi feel from the description and that makes me happy. Definitely expect to stick with this one next season.

In terms of movies and OVAs and whatnot, I don’t have a lot to say. I’m curious though is the Lupin III mentioned in the chart is the same Lupin we’re supposed to be getting this season. I really hope not, because I want a good 13-26 episode thing from my favorite thief. A lot of the stuff here is also sequels to last season’s stuff, or continuations of slightly older things, so I can’t really comment because I am bad at watching anime.

Also… We’re getting a new bloody theater-bound Rurouni Kenshin. I am genuinely surprised. I never thought anyone would step up and bring the franchise back. On that note… Hey Japan? Can we have some more Trigun or Yu Yu Hakusho or something? Thanks.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

