Looking Back – Castlevania: Symphony of the Night

Happy Halloween, folks! So, a good friend of mine recently sent me a spare 360 controller (as my computer apparently doesn’t like my USB PS2 convertor), so I’ve been playing a lot of games lately. Mostly stuff that I never had the time or skill to beat as a kid. One game has been taking up the good majority of my time, though. Castlevania: Symphony of the Night. And it’s got Dracula in it, so let’s say I planned this as a Halloween-themed post.

Symphony is easily my favorite game of the series, and that’s mainly because of what it did. It turned Castlevania from this hard-as-balls linear action-platformer to something more Metroid-y, with some RPG elements. In fact, I’m going to say it out Metroid’d Metroid!

I’ll admit, it’s not the best game in the series and it sure as hell isn’t the best Metroidvania game out there, but… There’s something special about the now-subpar (but excellent at the time) voice acting and how you have to equip, then throw food items to use them. It has a special place in my heart because it was the first Castlevania that I was really any good at, which helped strengthen my absolute love for Metroidvania games.

Also, is it me, or is this the biggest Castlevania game out there? I mean… two absolutely huge maps. Yeah, yeah, the Inverted Castle is just the normal map upside-down, but still! I’m about ten hours in and still haven’t fully explored the first castle, let alone the second one.

Now just flip this upside-down and you've got the second chunk of the game.

I do have one big complaint, though. The music, which Castlevania normally wins me over with, isn’t anything special. In fact, I honestly have nothing to say about it except that it feels all-around ‘meh.’ Also, I have  a complaint about Medusa Heads. Those things can go rot.

This entry was posted in Looking Back and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

