Go back, or go away? – Grass Pants muses on Bastion’s final moments

This post contains spoilers for the final moments in Bastion. Please read at your own discretion.

Bastion is easily one of the best games I’ve played. The art is beautiful. The dialogue is well-written. The voices are superb. The music… Hell, I could do a whole post about the music alone. As I write this, I’m at the very end of the game. Before I go on, let me recommend this game to all of you out there. If nothing else, try the demo on Steam. You won’t regret it.

As Rucks and Zia said, I have to make one final choice. The Kid can either turn back time, possibly preventing the Calamity… but losing all of the memories and experiences from this. And who knows that the Calamity won’t happen again? Not even Rucks knew.

In the choice before this, I opted to save Zulf. He was a bastard, certainly. He indirectly led to the deaths of all the pets I had acquired throughout the journey to fix things. … But he was doing it because he thought he could save his people. Caelondia caused the Calamity, and Zulf wanted revenge. In their final hour, his people turned on him and nearly murdered the man who gave everything to save them. I chose to put down the awe-inspiring power of Pyth’s battering ram and carry Zulf to safety. He didn’t deserve to die in the streets like a dog.

So, now I sit here. The Bastion’s complete. I can either go back, or I can go away. I can potentially stop the Calamity, if history chooses to change, or I can eke out an existence in this new world and hope that it will repair itself over time.

Honestly, I have no idea what to do. I’ve grown attached to these characters over the course of the game. I damn-near cried when my baby Pecker was killed in the siege. Is it worth it, though? That Pecker, that Squirt, and even the steam bull avatar of Pyth gave their lives to save the one place that was safe in this world. Do I really want to undo all of that? And do I really want to only take a chance that the Calamity will never happen again? Who knows if that Pecker will even be able to live as long as it did. Who knows if it’ll be born at all. And then there’s Rucks, Zia, and Zulf. I honestly don’t want these characters to be lost…

This is probably the hardest choice a game has ever presented me with. Do I keep on living in this torn world… or do I go back and try and fix things? I think, in the end, I’m gonna stay.

As always, thanks for reading and have a good one.

This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

