Grass Pants is utterly captivated by Frozenbyte’s Trine

So, I finally got around to picking up a copy of the latest Humble Bundle, which I highly recommend you all to pick up. It’s a bunch of great games for a great price and – if you choose – a portion of the proceeds can go to charity. Everyone wins. Anyhoo, I haven’t played much of anything in it yet (mainly because I’m trying to chip away at my first impressions backlog), but I decided to give Trine a shot. I was not disappointed.

Trine is, without even the slightest hint of doubt or hyperbole, the most beautiful game I have ever played. And I’ve played a lot of pretty things in my day, but… Wow. But before I get ahead of myself, let me explain what Trine is.

If you’ve ever played a Lost Vikings game, then you’ve (sort of) played Trine. Three characters, three specialties, and a criminy load of puzzles and fights between you and the next level. As a man who loved Lost Vikings (and wants a new one!), this was getting good points from me at the start.

The three characters are a thief, who has a grappling hook and bow and arrow. A wizard who can conjure boxes into the world (to block traps, crush enemies, etc) and who can move stuff around with magic. And finally, a silly Cockney-sounding knight who can block attacks with his shield and fight the undead hordes up-close and personal with a sword.

Like I said before, this game is downright wonderful to look at. It honestly looks like an old fairy tale brought life via modern, high-end graphics. Trine is something out of a story book and for someone who just wants a bit of good, ‘clean’ fantasy now and then, that’s perfect. Speaking of perfect, the music is reminiscent of  old Disney movies. It’s light-hearted and fluttery. Once again, it’s as if Frozenbyte brought life to a fairytale. While the music is repetitive, it never gets on your nerves. It’s always there in the background, happily flitting along.

As for the actual gameplay, I haven’t played much of it. The challenges always seem fair (even on hard) and fighting is stupid amounts of fun. Some of the controls feel a bit floaty, but that could just be me. Also, the skeletons have learned to climb and pull themselves up ledges. I like that.

All in all, Trine is a refreshing 2D platformer that’s not afraid to be pleasant and happy in a time that’s full of grimdark realistic shooters and gruff, no-nonsense space marines who say substitute ‘fuck’ and ‘shit’ for half of their vocabulary. If you liked Lost Vikings, you’ll love Trine. Definitely recommended.

This entry was posted in First Impressions, Video Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grass Pants is utterly captivated by Frozenbyte’s Trine

  1. MkMiku says:

    I played a demo of this once. It was more fun than I expected, especially since you get to switch between 3 very different characters. I agree with just about everything you said. The controls were a bit floaty, but other than that it was an interesting game. Though, I did get stuck a few times, but this is coming from someone who sucks at puzzles. ^^;

    • I’ve been stuck and ragequit more than a few times already. Mainly because I’m the kind of fellow who does crap the hard way!

      What’s that? Wizard can just make some planks to cross that gap? Nah, let’s try this precarious jumping puzzle as the thief, because that’s totally logical and beneficial.

      I gotta say, I love how each puzzle seems to have multiple solutions. In fact, my only problem with the game is that it doesn’t have online co-op (and, I assume with the sequel coming, we won’t get any either).

Leave a Reply

