“I am history’s greatest distraction!” – Grass Pants muses on kiting

Disclaimer: This post is basically me rambling on for a bit, so apologies for any confusion.

Ah, kiting. The simple pleasure of making someone so pissed that they go after you at all costs, leaving your buddies to do what they need to be doing. I have to say it’s somewhat like a spinoff on trolling. You know they can’t get you (and if they can, your team’s already done something cool to make your death worth it), and you keep baiting them around and around. Nothing beats a good kite.

What should we try to accomplish while kiting, though? Is it to get the enemy off a squishy dude and onto your hopefully beefier self, so the aforementioned squishy can get away? Is it to draw a group of enemies away from a point of interest? Is it just simply to be a jerk and troll a few people? I’d say it’s all of the above.

Let’s take my most experienced kiting scenario: League of Legends. A heated game of Dominion, the enemy sends someone to try and take either a point or a buddy. Let’s say that buddy is me, and I just keep running around and – for whatever reason – they’re so determined to kill me that they’ve gone all tunnel-visioned. They eventually blow all their mana or cooldowns or whatever (and usually take a few tower shots in the process), my team takes a point or quest, and I end up dead or dying. Yeah, I may have personally lost my fight, but my team got something done. It was worth it.

I’d like to see more of a metagame (again, this is kind’a League of Legends specific) developing around kiting and whatnot. Honestly, it’s the most fun I’ve ever had in a game. Granted, that’s because I’m a massive jerk and like to screw with people, but hey.

Anyway, that’s just a bit of a thought that’s been rolling around in my head for a while now. I figured if I could get it onto ‘paper’ it would leave me alone and let me focus on other things.

Also Kassadin and Udyr are the best kites. That is all.

This entry was posted in League of Legends, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I am history’s greatest distraction!” – Grass Pants muses on kiting

  1. MkMiku says:

    I think Ashe and Singed are the best kiters, but that’s just my personal play-style. Funny that you mentioned Dominion, because kiting is even more effective in Dominion than it is in SR; probably that reason alone is why I enjoy playing Dominon (though SR is still my favorite map).

    • Aw, man. How did I bloody forget about Singed?

      Maybe it’s just because I’m horrifically bad with him! Also, I’m loving Dominion, it’s a nice break from the 40+ minute standard of Summoner’s Rift.

      And I’m bloody horrible at farming half the time.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

