Looking Back – Nintendo 64

Wow… It’s already been fifteen years, huh? It honestly doesn’t seem like it. I can’t believe I was friggin’ seven when that thing came out…

This is going to be one of those shorter posts because – aside from general lack of time – I honestly didn’t have that big of an experience with the N64. I do remember getting it – and Glover, which I will defend to the death – for Christmas either the year of its debut or a year after. I didn’t get that many games for it until only a few years ago. Mostly due to price but also because I simply couldn’t find anything (outside of Mario 64 and Banjo-Kazooie, Rare’s last great game as far as I’m concerned) that caught my interest at stores around here. Honestly, I can barely make a top five list for the 64.

Granted, the few games I did play, I played them to death. Seriously, I have some cartridges that refuse to save anymore because I played them so much (hi pokemon snap). So it was a good time for good first-party games, but there wasn’t a lot of variety. It seems like Nintendo’s golden age was the NES and SNES eras. Even today, you don’t see them capturing the attention of a lot of developers and getting truly unique games out there. It’ s a bit of a shame.

Ah well, the 64 had a good run, even if it wasn’t like the SNES. I still had fun and I still love some of its games to this very day. Legend of the Mystical Ninja still sits somewhere in my top ten, just because of how different and wacky it was for the time. It was a good console, and I’ll continue to remember it fondly and post again in another five or so years. Maybe my tastes will change, maybe this blog won’t be around. Hell, maybe I won’t be around. But I’ll always enjoy what the Nintendo 64 brought to us.

This entry was posted in Looking Back and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking Back – Nintendo 64

  1. dustyjo says:

    The N64 was the first console I ever owned. I love it to death.

Leave a Reply

