Music of the Whenever – Reset

Ladies and gents, it’s time for a Shoji Meguro Takami Asano MotW. My body is ready actually quite confused, but still ready.

From the soundtrack of Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor, Atlus brings in a new composer. I have honestly never heard of this man before this and a brief internet search doesn’t bring up many details. I would have sworn that this was a Meguro tune, but eh. Either way, the guy knows his nonsense. It starts off with a rather… old sounding guitar part. I didn’t think I’d care for it first, then the vocals hit. The vocals turn what should have been subpar into something great. They give it a nice nostalgic feel, especially during the chorus. I’m particularly reminded of Digital Devil Saga’s Muladhara (which I have amazingly never done a MotW for, I’ll have to fix that). As a last bit of commentary, I would love to see more people like Asano here brought in for Atlus music. Maybe get him on the Persona 5 team, with Aya Ishihara? A guy can hope.

I’m a bit out of practice in my musical commentary, so I hope this will suffice. It’s a good, upbeat yet nostalgic song. It’s hard to describe, but it is easily one of the best opening themes in the series. Once again, thanks for reading, and have a good’un!

This entry was posted in Music, Video Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

