Thundercats Extended Footage and Impressions

Meet the redone main characters, folks!

First off, I’m not dead! I just haven’t gotten around to my usual anime and games, yet. Second, apologies but I can’t seem to embed this video. It’s only nine minutes, so it shouldn’t take up too much of your time. Take some time to watch it, then check out my impressions after the jump.

First, let me just say that my knowledge of the old series is… subpar, at best. I haven’t seen much, if any. Mainly because the animation always looked kinda choppy and ‘blurry’ in the way that old 80’s cartoons tend to. Which is why I love the fact that they’re bringing the series back, honestly. I’m a sucker for a good action show, especially one that hits me with a ton of somewhat nostalgic bricks. Speaking of which, the animation and fights so far just look flat-out amazing. Everything is nice and crisp and the eyes have a special kind of quality to them.

I’ve heard that this is a reboot, but… Well, Lion-o’s father mentioned that Mum-Rah was already defeated. Granted, this could just be a change in the plot (seeing as how they’ve always lived on Third Earth, from what I can gather, as opposed to coming from Thundera), or it could be a continuation of the old series. I don’t see the latter happening, but it could be pretty cool if it was. Y’know, toss in a few throwbacks to the ‘old’ Thundercats.

Moving on to the voice acting, that’s what got my interested in this series. I finally saw an ad for it a few days ago and loved Lion-o’s voice. Also, King Claudius is done by Larry Kenny, who did the original Lion-o, which is a nice touch. Everyone is well-done so far. Even Snarf, and I used to remember loathing that little bastard when I saw him.

I’m genuinely excited. None of the characters are annoying or anything, the fight scenes are good, the story is darker and more mature (see the scene where the townsfolk are torturing the lizards)… Honestly, it reminds me a lot of Avatar: The Last Airbender. An anime-esque, mature series with great fight scenes and a plot that’s not-quite-shonen.

Anyway, thanks for reading. Thundercats’ one-hour primere airs on the 29th, so be sure to check it out. I may see if I can’t get a little chat widget thing here and maybe we could get a livechat going during the airing. Once again, thanks for reading and have a good’un. Peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

