Grass Pants Takes a Quick Look at the Upcoming Season’s Anime

Well this is certainly long overdue. I’ll be tossing out my opinions of the upcoming season’s anime. I’ll be skipping a few or else this post is going to have a  lot of ‘It’s a sequel/continuation to something I’ve never heard of or watched’ or ‘I’m neutral about this one’.



No. 6 seems like it could be interesting. From the small amount of art (read: one piece of it) I’ve seen, it looks nice. The idea of a futuristic city has always intrigued me, especially since it’s only set in 2013.

Usagi Drop seems like something I’ll definitely give a shot. It looks like a nice heartwarming series. I’m curious to see how the relationship between Rin and her new father figure play out (especially since she’s the daughter of his grandfather).

Nekogami Yaoyorozu seems like a silly series based on the premise. I do look forward to seeing how they handle the assorted gods that visit, though. Also, catgirls. It’s hard to go wrong with catgirls.

Dantalian no Shoka is something I can’t say too much about. Premise seems interesting, but I’m not really sure where it’ll go. I think I’ll give it a shot, though. Also, it’s a Gainax anime. I’ve never seen a bad Gainax show, so there’s that.

Mayo Chiki!. Now this is the kind of anime I can get into. Style that reminds me of Ore no Imouto, butler who turns out to be a girl which means a girl in a suit. Yeah this is on my watch-list for sure.

Ikoku Meiro no Croisée looks interesting as hell. First off, it’s set in Paris in the 1800s and doesn’t seem to have any sort of mystical or supernatural themes. From what I’ve seen, that’s pretty rare. If nothing else, I’ll give it a watch just to check out the setting.

The IDOLM@STER – Holy crap it’s an IDOLM@STER anime. I’ve never played any of the games, but it seems fun as hell. Honestly can’t wait for this one to come out.

Yuruyuri looks like it’ll be this series Lucky Star or K-On!. Four girls doing silly things in a club. I gotta say, I love how every season has its own slice-of-life series like this.

Nyanpire the Animation is going to be pure diabetes. And is apparently made by Gonzo. Well that’s unexpected…

Kamisama Dolls looks like half murder mystery, half supernatural/mystical stuff. Being a sucker for mysteries, I really hope it plays up the murder.

Kami-sama no Memo-chou. It stars a NEET! I’m not sure why I enjoy NEETs so much (at least when portrayed fairly realistically and not just for giggles), but I do. There’s something about them that fascinates me.

Now it’s time to check out the coming OVAs and movies. I was pleasantly surprised about a few of these…

Saiyuki Gaiden. Holy crap. Saiyuki is, by far, my favorite anime. Now granted, I haven’t seen much of Reload (and none of Reload: Gunlock), but I don’t think they touched on the ‘500 years ago’ parts overly much back then (outside of a few episodes). That’s a shame, because it seemed like that would be some of the coolest material. This OVA? Yeah, this OVA is straight-up focused on that. Anpro, shut up and take my money!

Hellsing Ultimate: Episode VIII. Now this surprises me just a bit less than Saiyuki. I had no idea Ultimate was still going on. Granted, I haven’t been following it overly much, but I should really use this new episode as a chance to give it a shot.

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira – file.01. More Hellsing, a brand new Saiyuki, and Higurashi? Welp, this is officially the best season ever and also the season that reminds me to hurry up and finish Higurashi and move on to Umineko.

Sengoku Basara – The Last Party –. I don’t really need to say anything except that it’s pretty much impossible for anything Sengoku Basara (the localization disaster that was ‘Devil Kings’ aside) to be bad. Same goes for…

Kokuriko-Zaka Kara, because it’s a Ghibli film. If there’s one studio that has never put out a bad movie, it’s Ghibli.

Well that about wraps it up. I didn’t touch on a few of ’em because I didn’t have much to say or the little infobox I was reading off was too silly (hi there Manyuu Hikenchou). If you’ve got something to say about any of these, drop a comment.

Thanks for reading, and have a good’un.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

