Music of the Whenever Deluxe Edition – Intro Themes

An intro can make or break someone’s opinion of a game. It can say ‘holy shit this is going to be awesome’ or ‘oh wow this is really bad’. Or it can lie to you and make you think something’s really awesome when it’s not. Or something like that. Anyway, I’ve asked a handful of people for the best intro themes, along with some of my own favorites. Here’s what I got.

Chrono Cross – Scars of Time

This is the song that made me want to write this. This is, without a doubt, my favorite intro theme. Hell, this is probably the best song on the entire Chrono series soundtrack. Just… wow. As much as I have against Chrono Cross, I can’t fault it’s art or music. I would, in all honesty, prefer to listen to this soundtrack over Trigger’s any day. Not enough people know about this song. Just… Just suffer through the game for its music or find the soundtrack somewhere. Seriously, it’s all this level of quality. Speaking of things not enough people know about…

Wild ARMs – Into the Wilderness

My second favorite theme on this list. It captures the spirit of the fantasy Wild Western setting perfectly. The whistling, or what sounds like whistling, also helps give it a bit of a … Let’s say a rural folk song feel. It sounds like something passed down in a family or community, something you’d end up whistling by reflex. The music has a bit of a Spanish or at least ‘Southern’ flair to it, which is also nice.

World of Warcraft: Cataclysm – The Shattering

I’m not sure if you could call this an opening theme but I do not care. It’s played before or during the title screen, so it counts. This is, without a doubt, the best song in the entire history of WoW (tied for first place with Assault on New Avalon). Speaking as a huge, massive Disney fan here, but… The minute or so has a very Disney-esque quality. It honestly wouldn’t sound out of place in the infamous Night on Bald Mountain segment in Fantasia. After that, you’ve got Latin-esque chanting backed by an orchestra. I know I quit WoW a long while ago, but I will never stop loving Blizzard’s music. They know what they’re doing, big time. Also, I’m dropping a lot of RPGs in here, so let’s switch it up a bit…

Shoot the Bullet – Tengu’s Notebook ~ Mysterious Note

I absolutely love rain. Sitting inside and listening to the rain is the most zen-like experience ever. Now, imagine my reaction when I booted up StB and heard this. Dear god, ZUN, you amazing man. One of the most peaceful songs I’ve ever heard. It’s just so calming and beautiful that I’m listening to it right now, and it’s nearly put me to sleep a few times.

Gran Turismo – Moon Over the Castle


I’m not exactly a big fan of ‘real’ racing games. Give me fantasy racing anytime, though. This was suggested by a buddy of mine, so I can only ramble on about the musical qualities of it. First,let me say that I’ve heard a few versions, but decided to go with the original. According to what little research I’ve done, it’s been in all of the GT games. Anyway, on with the rambling. I never expected the opening for a fast-paced racing game to be so mellow, and then smoothly transition into a more typical song. It’s got a nice, Sega-y arcade feel to it. Yep. Nice and arcade-y.

Digital Devil Saga – Danger

Who would’ve guessed I’d finish this list up with an RPG? Aside from myself, of course. Anyway, considering the subject matter and all that in this game… I was completely flat-out shocked when I walked away to do something and this started playing. I hate the fact that I don’t have a lot to say about it, but… Wow. It’s jazzy, it’s got good vocals, it’s soothing. A soothing, happy opening in a game where you become a demon and consume the hell out of your enemies. Seriously, Meguro, this is some crazy mood whiplash.

Anyway, that’s it for this little thing here. If you think I’ve missed something or just want to comment, go ahead and thanks for readin’.

This entry was posted in Music, Review, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

