The Grass Feels Like Pants Reviews K-ON! Season One

And it took him long enough. Yes, I know this review is incredibly late. I’m the kind of person to wait until a series is a bit old – and after a lot of the initial hype has died down – to jump in. I can think of two examples which I haven’t waited on, and it’s not like I checked them out immediately, either. Anyway, onto the review.

Right here is the most moving bit in the series so far.

I’m a man who enjoys a good ‘feel-good’ series every now and then and K-ON is just that: A fluffy, warm, feel-good kind of show. It’s just got a real good vibe going for it and I appreciate that. A lot newer series, that I’ve seen anyway, tend to have needlessly complex plots and characters and drama and all that. Now, I’m not saying I mind ‘all that,’ but it does get tiring after that’s all you’ve been watching. That’s a big reason why I enjoy K-ON and the slice of life genre so much. It’s silly, it’s fun, it’s nonsensical without being too nonsensical. Speaking of fun, I actually like how it isn’t necessarily a ‘music’ or ‘band’ anime. Sure, the girls are in a band, but that kind of takes a backseat to daily life.

However, they are in a band, so it fits that K-ON has a pretty great soundtrack. I’m not even talking the lyrical songs (yet), but the overall soundtrack is well-done and each song fits pretty well without punching you in the head and yelling ‘Hey, there’s music now!’ Praises aside, it’s one of those soundtracks I can’t listen to without an accompanying scene. I want to say they’re very ambient pieces, but that’s likely the wrong term. Let’s just say that, on a subconscious level, I’ve connected those songs with the scenes they’re in. I tend to do this a lot, actually, and it sort of ruins my ability to listen to an otherwise great soundtrack when not watching the anime or playing the game. The lyrical songs, however, are divine. Granted, I’m a sucker for this kind of music, but… Y’know what, give it a listen.

I know, I know. It’s not the greatest thing in the world, but I’ll be damned if it ain’t catchy and pretty freakin’ cute. I was thinking about making this a music of the whenever post, honestly. Oh and as a little aside, allow me to thank whoever had the brilliant idea of putting Mio in a tophat and blue stockings.

Seriously, this is the best outfit ever. Fanart by Dorago, click the image for his Pixiv.

Speaking of outfits, that was a huge high point for me. I know it’s time-consuming to draw each character in a bunch of ‘em, but there’s something really nice about not seeing the same thing over and over. I’m not talking stage outfits, either, but those were also nice. I’m talking about day-to-day clothing. It made the anime feel a bit more ‘real’ for me, if that makes any sense.

Aside from everything above, I’m just going to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this anime more than I do most. I mean, it’s far from my favorite (that will always be the original Saiyuki series, in case you’re wondering), but it’s… Everything just seems so high quality and well-polished and all that. Voices, animation, general ‘feel’ of it. Everything’s just so damn good that it’s hard for me not to like it. I also enjoyed that every episode felt different enough on its own, while not being completely different. You could usually predict things that would happen (Ritsu getting smacked, for instance), but that ain’t a bad thing.

Yelling at your gloves? Also not a bad thing.

Anyway, I’m off to watch season two in a few, so expect a post on that whenever I get around to it along with a Madoka review – which I’m looking forward to writing – whenever the episodes come out and I manage to find some fansubs.

Oh, and if you want to get in touch but don’t feel like dropping a comment, check out the shiny new Contact page.

This entry was posted in Anime and Manga, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Grass Feels Like Pants Reviews K-ON! Season One

  1. Fragile says:

    Hmm, I may have to check this out afterall. I avoided it at first because it was so popular and I usually don’t end up liking popular animes, but I’m a real sucker for slice-of-life.

    Also, those eyebrows. So adorable!

  2. That’s exactly how I was at first!

    And yes, those eyebrows are wonderful. There’s a bit of a joke involving them toward the end…. Hehehehe…

  3. Gosipeck says:

    This is almost exactly how I feel about K-On!. It’s so warm and fuwa fuwa… and chill. I also like how realistic the girls are drawn; no one’s exactly boobtastically developed, their bodies are sort of roundish and… It just makes them even cuter. I do love Mio’s “Don’t Say Lazy” outfit as well! Those blue tights! @.@

    • Oh hey, a new reader! Thanks for stoppin’ by!

      I wouldn’t quite go as far to say they’re realistic (We’re not exactly talking Cowboy Bebop/Big O visuals here), but it’s certainly not Eiken. I particularly enjoy how, even during the beach episodes with all the bikinis and chances for fanservice out the wazoo, it’s still pretty tasteful.

      I’m still lagging behind in watching the second season, sadly. Any thoughts on it? I’m trying to get through it before season three/the rumored(?) movie comes out. :\

Leave a Reply

