Music of the Whenever – Mass Destruction

Ahahaha… Yes, I know that I’m like two days late on the promise, but hey, it’s up.

Anyway, I’ve been listening to this song quite a bit. And, as it turns out, there are two different versions, so this is going to be a longer-than-normal MotW post. I think the two versions (one from the game, another from the Persona Music Band Live concert) are different enough to warrant it, so yeah.

Let me go ahead and say that I’m downright odd about video game music. I like pretty much everything, so long as it fits with the rest of the game (there have been some exceptions to this rule, though, but I’ll save those for another MotW). If you listen to the rest of the Persona 3 soundtrack, most of the music is similar to this. Upbeat, pseudo-pop/pseudo-rap or something, and lyrical. Speaking of the lyrics, if you’re anything like me, you have no idea what Lotus Juice is singing here, so here ya go.

Okay, now on to the actual review of the song. Again, the big thing here is that it fits with the soundtrack as a whole. Honestly, considering Minato carries an MP3 player around all the time, this – and for that matter, most of the music – seems like it could be something he’s listening to. It’s a nice, upbeat pseudo-rap (because I’m not sure how else to describe it) song. It makes for a good battle theme, but not so much for longer battles. As much as I love this song, it would be kind of annoying hearing it go on for a ten-minute long boss fight. It’s good in short bursts. Hell, you may not even hit the chorus before the fight’s over. It works like that.

Also, while listening to this version again, I never realized how smooth Lotus Juice’s voice is. I’m normally not a fan of rap, but that could be one of the reasons I enjoy this so much. Most of the other rap I’ve heard has a heavy vocalist, and maybe a handful of beats in the background. This has a tune all throughout it and a smooth, natural voice.

And I’m not going to comment on the lyrics because they only make the tiniest amount of sense (to me, anyway). I’m not sure how English-fluent Lotus Juice is, but it seems like English for the sake of itself. I am totally fine with this. *thumbs up*

Okay, now that this version’s out of the way, let’s move on to the Persona Music Band Live version.

Now, I know the video’s kinda distracting. But I prefer live performances over a CD version any day, so eh.

Anyway, the first thing you notice about this is that there is a distinctly more jazzy quality in the song itself. I love this. I’m not entirely sure why either Shoji Meguro or whoever composed alongside him did this. Rap and jazz? Working together? Bloody wonderful.

I also have to say that Lotus Juice’s voice is noticeably more forceful and ‘there’ in this. He’s still got the smoothness from the in-game version, and it could just be that he’s on stage, but it still feels like harder-hitting lyrics. Speaking of vocals, the female vocalists also seem better. Again, I may have linked a bad video up top or it could just be that they’re on stage instead of in a recording studio, but even the girls sound better (or it could simply be different girls, who knows).

Now, I haven’t listened to anything that Lotus Juice has done outside of Persona 3, so I can’t compare this to his other works. However, if this is his general style (smooth voice and all that), then I believe I’ll like him. Either way, I think I’ll give the guy a chance.

Okay, I know the second half of this review was pretty short, but I honestly can’t pick out any more differences than those. Honestly, I prefer the in-game version, if only because of the added ‘smoothness’ of Lotus Juice’s voice. However, both are good, solid songs and definitely worth listening to. As a last note, I’m going to go out and say that all of Atlus’s music is generally up there and that y’all should give it a shot, because I know I won’t be able to cover half of it.

I’ll see you guys (hopefully) soon. Thanks for readin’.

This entry was posted in Music, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

